April 23, 2018
Driving While Intoxicated Laws in New Jersey
New Jersey has taken several steps to try and decrease the number of DWI and DUI convictions in their state. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in New Jersey if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or above. This limit is the standard measurement for an illegally impaired driver across the country. New Jersey’s limits for under age drivers and drivers of commercial vehicles are lower than .08. New Jersey laws prohibit driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) and driving with drugs in your car. The penalties for driving under the influence of drugs and having drugs in your possession are similar to the ones for driving while intoxicated by alcohol.
The first time you are convicted of drunk driving in New Jersey, you will be fined between $250 and $400. Your license will be suspended for up to three months and you may face up to 30 days in jail. You will also be spending at least six hours for two consecutive days in an intoxicated driver resource center and have to pay an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 annually for the next three years. A second conviction for drunk driving will cost you between $500 and $1,000, suspend your license for seven months up to one year, and you may spend up to 90 days in jail. If you are arrested and convicted a third time, your fine will be $1,000, your driver’s license will be suspended for 10 years and you may face 180 days in jail. Your automobile surcharge will be $1,500 annually for the next three years.
Additional fees include $100 surcharge for the drunk driving enforcement fund, $100 Motor Vehicle Restoration fee, $100 Violent Crimes Compensation fee, $100 Intoxicated Driver Program fee and $100 State and Municipality fee. For first, second and third offenses, an additional penalty may include the installation of an IID, or Ignition Interlock Device, which is a device that prevents a vehicle from starting if the driver has been drinking alcohol.
New Jersey has an implied consent law. This means that if you refuse to take a chemical sobriety test in New Jersey, you may be subject to a fine and an automatic license suspension. Depending on whether it is your first, second or third offense, your license may be revoked for seven months, two years or 10 years. However, your arrest may be unlawful for a variety of reasons. Whatever the circumstances, the best course of action is to contact an experienced attorney who has experience in handling DUI and DWI charges in New Jersey. You will need someone with superior legal skills, encyclopedic knowledge and compassion to stand by your side and help you navigate the tricky and complex legalities involved in cases such as these. You need Michael Peter Rubas on your side. Your life depends on it.
Criminal defense lawyer Rubas has offices in Manasquan and Jersey City, New Jersey. Don’t put your trust in any criminal lawyer. Get a lawyer with the experience, knowledge, skills and determination to fight for you. Call Michael Rubas at the Rubas Law Offices as soon as possible. There are time limits involved in your defense so contact our office as soon as possible.