DWI Penalties in New Jersey

Driving while intoxicated (DWI)

DWI is a punishable offense in New Jersey. If a person has a BAC (Blood alcohol concentration) of 0.08% or above, he or she can be charged with DWI. The penalties for DWI depends on the severity of the charges and ranges from suspension of license to fines, surcharges, jail time, and community service.

1st Offense

A first time DWI offender will face penalties and punishments including:

  • Suspension of driving license for 3 months
  • 12 hours to 30 days of jail time
  • Fine of $250 to $400
  • Annual automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
  • Alcohol/substance abuse assessment
  • 6 hours alcohol classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for 2 days

If an individual had a BAC of 0.10% or higher, he or she will incur a higher fine of $300 to $500, and a longer license suspension for 7 months to 1 year in addition to other penalties.

2nd Offense

A repeat DWI offender will face severe consequences including:

  • Fines of $500 to $1,000
  • 30 days of community service
  • Alcohol classes for 12 to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
  • Automobile insurance surcharges of $3,000 for 3 years
  • 2 to 90 days of Jail time
  • Suspension of driving license for a minimum of 2 years
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund surcharge
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) surcharge

3rd Offense

New Jersey outlines strict penalties for third DWI offender, which includes:

  • A minimum of $1,000 fine
  • A maximum of 90 days of community service
  • Alcohol classes for 12 to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
  • Automobile insurance surcharges of $4,500 for 3 years
  • 180 days of jail time
  • Suspension of driving license for 10 years

If you’ve been arrested for DWI in New Jersey, it is in your best interest that you seek legal advice as soon as possible. While New Jersey is committed to strictly prosecuting individuals charged with DWI, an experienced attorney can build a strong defense for you. DWI defense attorney Michael Peter Rubas at the Rubas Law Offices has the skills, knowledge, compassion, and dedication to help you. Call 201-448-9866 or email info@rubaslawoffices.com.