Rubas Law Offices and Certified Criminal Trial Attorney Michael Rubas Represent Clients Charged with Driving With a Suspended License and other Motor Vehicle Violations
In New Jersey, a driver's license can be suspended or revoked for a number of reasons such as failure to pay DMV surcharges, failure to pay a license restoration fee, failure to pay fines or appear in court for a traffic violation, having more than 12 points on your driver’s license, or even failure to pay a parking ticket. More troublesome, the State of New Jersey does not grant hardship licenses.
Consequences of Driving While on the Suspended List and The Law
In New Jersey, Driving While Suspended or Revoked is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 and the penalties are extremely harsh. For a first offense, a motorist is subject to a punishment that includes both fines of $500 and a possible loss of driving privileges for a period of 6 months. A second offender is subject to an increased punishment and must pay a fine of $750 and an additional license suspension for 6 months. A third or a subsequent offender is subject to a severe punishment and must pay a fine of $1,000. The driver is also subject to a license suspension for as long as 6 six months and a mandatory 10 day jail term.
Years of experience have taught Certified Trial Attorney Michael Rubas that every motor vehicle violation is fact sensitive and that a complete, well-planned defense is required. Rubas Law Offices explore every motor vehicle violation case to identify any issues that can assist in defending and/or negotiating the best outcome for our clients.
Michael Rubas has a Monmouth County office in Spring Lake Heights (732) 820-4332 that serves clients at the Jersey Shore including, but not limited to, the municipalities of Asbury Park, Belmar, Manasquan, Neptune, Sea Girt, Spring Lake, and Wall as well as all Ocean County municipalities. The Jersey City office (201) 448-9866 serves clients in all Northern New Jersey Municipal Courts